Saint Jack

Impossible to overestimate the influence Jack Kerouac had on my generation.  Here’s how I put it in the story, “The Baby Dharma Bums.”
"Although The Dharma Bums purported to be a novel, I could tell it was written by a guy who had actually done all these things and was just writing down what happened. I decided in an instant that I was going to do those things too. I had found my calling. I was 16. I had joined the Beat Generation."

Jack Kerouac fire escape 1

Here is the iconic photo of visionary Jack as we imagined him then, taken by Allen Ginsberg on a Manhattan fire escape in 1953. But he built his own fire and he couldn’t escape it.

The First Few Friends I Had: love stories from the gone world

Leave a Reply

