Foxes Have Holes, Part 2

“Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head.”
It’s a real brain cracker, just like the Zen Master’s koans I mentioned this morning. I think maybe if I could understand this one sentence then the world would come apart and reassemble itself in a brand new way. Maybe I’d finally find the gateway to the Kingdom of God! I know it’s around here somewhere but try as I might I’ve never been able to find the entrance. It must be hidden like the door to a fox den.
I’m like the guy in the story – there he goes – off pondering for the next few weeks – “What did Jesus mean? Why did he say that to me? All I did was tell him I would follow him wherever he goes!”

Labels: ,

2 thoughts on “Foxes Have Holes, Part 2

  1. Poor, beautiful Jesus, He lived in two worlds as the Son of Man and the Son of God, human and divine, without a place to sleep. He latter would sleep on the boat in the middle of the storm. As the man, Jesus was mortal and impoverish as all men. As a God he was away from his house in heaven. Jesus seems to focus a lot on this seemingly impossible duality. Is he not so human when he cries: “My God, my God, why hast thou forsaken me?” yet as he cries out he sheds his mortality and fulfills the prophesy. It is so important that Jesus be man yet sinless, just as it is so important that the Word of God be written language but perfect, a flawless text. It is what the religion is based upon. Christ introduced perfection into an imperfect world; he gave a way to bridge the gap between God and man. He seems to be saying, if you follow me you will realize that your mortal house is not your home, you will have no place to sleep in the physical realm. Following Jesus as the man would show how all men are strangers and separated from their final destination. But it is he himself as God who is the way to that heavenly house.

    Like

  2. Addendum to above:I also find it interesting how Jesus selects the fox and the bird, two elements of nature, to contrast himself and mankind against. The fox and the bird are not strangers in this world; this is their place, while the Christian man/women are eternally strangers in the world. They are without a bed. I see this as very not Buddhist. But I may be wrong.(In this passage, Jesus calls himself THE son of man, but since the phrase “son of man” was used to mean “mankind” in much of the Old Testament, I believe there is a hinted, implied meaning that he is also referring to all who follow him.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

