Planet of Joy

I know not everyone was lucky enough to be born into a family of talking pigs. But I was. I see the world’s from a dancing pig’s perspective, not a man’s. The way of the world makes little sense to me and never has. Why not clack your trotters together and come out for an encore? Why just go on and on? I wish I knew.

Lately I’ve been thinking about the holy pleasure principle. What a bad rap it gets, among my fellow Christians at least. As if every step we take should be for some higher purpose and to do Jesus’ will on earth. And the unspoken context I hear is: “whether you like it or not.” We shouldn’t live for ourselves but only to carry out God’s will. Says so right in the Bible. And then I feel guilty because I know my higher purpose is to tapdance up a storm, not starting another church of mournfulness.

You know what I think? I think God wants us to love our lives, to be happy and to get a lot of pleasure out of it. I think God gave us pleasure because it is who He is. What delight to create a whole universe! What an artist in his inspiration to create the Horsehead Nebula in perfection and then put little green squirrels on the planet Jualampa for their joy.

2 thoughts on “Planet of Joy

  1. When do dancers ever dance for themselves? They live for the dance. Jesus tried to teach the dance but had a hard time finding partners, and he often danced with tears in His eyes. Perhaps now the partners he did find are out there teaching the rest of us plodders how to hear the beat. Dancing pigs, eh? I hear it now: “Come on sleepyheads! Let’s turn those plodders into trotters!” And the dance goes on…So thinks the Young Walrus Wife…

    Like

Leave a Reply

